The Lion and The Mouse


Today, I share with you one of my daughter’s favorite bedtime story. There are several versions of this, but this is one of my versions that I knew would be interesting for my little girl of age 3.

Yeah, she simply loved it – being so animated, sweet and short.

* * * *

YE-LionOnce upon a time (she always loves her stories to begin with that) in a land far..far..away, there was a lion, the king of the jungle.

One day when the lion was asleep, a tiny little mouse began running up and down on him. This soon awakened the lion, who placed his huge paw on the mouse, and opened his big jaws to swallow him. Ummhhh……

“Pardon, O King!” cried the little mouse. “Please, please, please… Forgive me this time. I shall never do it again and I shall never forget your kindness if you let me go. And who knows, I may be able to do you a help in return one of these days, if I be saved today!”

YE-LionMouse

The lion was so tickled by the idea of the mouse being able to help him and said “Ha ha ha… How can a tiny mouse like you be able to help the mighty king…?”. Saying that the lion lifted his paw and let him go.

Some days later, there was a big sound in the jungle and all the animals and birds were running away… a few hunters captured the lion, and tied him to a tree. After that they went in search of a wagon, to take him to the zoo.

Just then the little mouse happened to pass by. On seeing the lion in trouble, he remembered how the lion let him free the other day and ran up to him. There were sounds of squeaks that came from behind the lion and when the lion turned to see what it was, he saw the little mouse gnawing away the ropes that bound him, the king of the jungle.

Soon, the mouse broke the ropes and let the lion out. “Was I not right? Didn’t I tell you that one day I will be able to help you?” said the little mouse and was very happy to help the lion. The lion smiled and hugged the little mouse…

The End, Good Night! (another phrase that is a must in her stories to have it end!)

YE-LionMouseHug

MORAL: Small acts of kindness will be rewarded greatly, no matter how big or small you are.

Leave a Comment

